Tribal Print & OPI Coca Cola Collection I

Because my boyfriend is just the best, I am able to show you almost the entire OPI Coca Cola collection! He got me a mini set that includes every single color except for one and also a mini bottle of Nail Envy and OPI Topcoat for my birthday! More details about the set in the next post.

Today I am showing you one of my favorites: “You’re so Vain-illa”, which is of course inspired by Vanilla Coke (also my favorite!).
It is a yellow toned beige, which applies streaky with the first coat. The second coat almost evens everything out but if you have uneven nails or ridges like me on some nails, it will still show (as you can see in the picture). The drying time is really short though. In the picture below I used two coats with no topcoat.

For the design I was inspired by a colorful tribal pattern on my scarf (as you can see in the picture) and since this pattern has turquoise in it, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try out the Maybelline Nail Art Pen. The opacity is fantastic but I would like it more if the tip of the pen was a little more pointed. Maybe I need more practice but I could not draw really fine lines.

For the other lines I used a striper brush with FlormarNA12” (black), Misslynlemon chiffon” (yellow), Essence08 ultimate pink”.

To finish I applied a coat of Essence BTGN.

I am pleased with this first free hand try on tribal print nails. I love the unusual color combination but it is definitely out of my comfort zone. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

